Each year STAM issues a Best Paper Award and a Best Contribution Award.

  • The Best Paper Award is selected based on its impact on scientific researchband appeal to a broad audience in the last two years.
  • The Best Contribution Award acknowledges the recent activity in improving STAM such as publishing articles, inviting authors, planning focus issues and promoting the journal.

Both awards are given at the STAM Annual Reception at the Editorial Board Meeting, and the recipients are invited to the ceremony to give a presentation.
STAM also presents the STAM Young Scientist Award to young material science researchers for their excellent presentations at academic meetings.


Best Paper Award

Self-assembly as a key player for materials nanoarchitectonics

Katsuhiko Ariga, Michihiro Nishikawa, Taizo Mori, Jun Takeya, Lok Kumar Shrestha & Jonathan P. Hill

Altmetric Award

Heusler alloys for spintronic devices: review on recent development and future perspectives

Kelvin Elphick, William Frost, Marjan Samiepour, Takahide Kubota, Koki Takanashi, Hiroaki Sukegawa, Seiji Mitani & Atsufumi Hirohata

Best Contribution Award

Professor Takao Hanawa (Former STAM Associate Editor), Tokyo Medical and Dental University